Short stays up to 90 days (Schengen Visa/C-Visa)

05.02.2024 - Article

1. The Schengen Area and competency of the German Embassy Dar Es Salaam

A Schengen visa entitles the holder to an accumulated stay of up to 90 days within a period of six months and is valid for Germany, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland (Schengen Area).

Please submit your application for a Schengen Visa to the representative of the country which is your main destination - considering length and purpose of your intended stay. If no such main destination can be ascertained, please contact the representative of the country of your first entry into the Schengen Area.

The German Embassy in Dar Es Salaam have outsourced the application process for Schengen visas to the external service provider TLScontact who will guide you through the application process.

Please note that the German Embassy in Dar Es Salaam ist he comptenet authority should you have your permanent residence in Tanzania (only).

2. General Information on whether you require a visa

Do I need a visa? Click here!

Citizens of EU member states do not require a visa to enter the Federal Republic of Germany.

All other foreigners require a visa for stays in Germany. Nationals of countries for which the European Community has waived the visa requirement do not require a visa for visits of up to 90 days per six-month period. Information on the required documents can be found below.

Top of page